Saguaro Power Plant CSP Project

This page provides information on Saguaro Power Plant CSP project, a concentrating solar power (CSP) project, with data organized by background, participants, and power plant configuration.

Project Overview

Power Station: Saguaro Power Plant
Location: Red Rock

United States
Owners (%): Arizona Public Service
Technology Parabolic Trough
Nominal Capacity: 1 MW
Status Currently Non-Operational
Start Year: 2006

Status Date

Status Date July 07, 2021


Break Ground Date 2004
Expected Generation (GWh/year) 2
Lat/Long Location 32.548,-111.293
Total Power Station Land Area (km²) 0.06


Developer Arizona Public Service
EPC Solargenix
Operator Arizona Public Service
Electricity Generation Offtaker Arizona Public Service


Plant Configuration

Solar Field

Solar Field Aperture Area (m²) 10340
# of Solar Collector Assemblies (SCAs) 24
# of Loops 3
# of SCAs per Loop 8
# of Modules per SCA 12
SCA Length (m) 97
Collector/Heliostat Manufacturer Starnet
Collector/Heliostat Model LS-2
Mirror Manufacturer Flabeg

Solar Field (Receiver)

Receiver Working Fluid Biphenyl/Diphenyl oxide: Xceltherm
Receiver Working Fluid Category Thermal oil/organics
Working Fluid Manufacturer Radco Industries
# of Heat Collector Elements (HCEs) 528
Solar Field or Receiver Inlet Temperture (C) 120°C
Solar Field or Receiver Outlet Temperture (C) 300°C

Power Block

Nominal Turbine or Power Cycle Capacity 1 MW
Turbine Manufacturer Ormat
Power Cycle Organic Rankine
Power Cycle Pressure (Bar) 22.2
Turbine Efficiency Percent 20.7
Cooling Type Wet