National Solar Thermal Power Facility CSP Project

This page provides information on National Solar Thermal Power Facility CSP project, a concentrating solar power (CSP) project, with data organized by background, participants, and power plant configuration.

Project Overview

Power Station: National Solar Thermal Power Facility
Location: Gurgaon
Owners (%): IIT Bombay
Technology Parabolic Trough
Nominal Capacity: 1 MW
Status Operational
Start Year: 2012

Status Date

Status Date


Break Ground Date 2011
Lat/Long Location 28.428,77.159


Developer IIT Bombay
EPC Abengoa
Operator IIT Bombay
Electricity Generation Offtaker National grid

Plant Configuration

Solar Field

Solar Field Aperture Area (m²) 8000
# of Solar Collector Assemblies (SCAs) 12
# of Loops 3
# of SCAs per Loop 4
# of Modules per SCA 10
SCA Length (m) 120
Collector/Heliostat Manufacturer Shrijee Structures
Mirror Manufacturer Rioglass

Solar Field (Receiver)

Receiver Working Fluid Biphenyl/Diphenyl oxide: Therminol VP-1
Receiver Working Fluid Category Thermal oil/organics
Working Fluid Manufacturer Eastman/Solutia
# of Heat Collector Elements (HCEs) 360
Solar Field or Receiver Inlet Temperture (C) 293°C
Solar Field or Receiver Outlet Temperture (C) 393°C
Receiver Manufacturer Schott
Receiver Model PTR 70

Power Block

Nominal Turbine or Power Cycle Capacity 1 MW
Power Cycle Steam Rankine

The project data on these pages and in the downloadable CSV file is copyright (©) Institute for Advanced Sustainability Studies (IASS) and others 2022; data by Lilliestam@IASS, Thonig@IASS, Zang@CAS, Gilmanova@CAS and others. The data is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.”