Agua Prieta II CSP Project

This page provides information on Agua Prieta II CSP project, a concentrating solar power (CSP) project, with data organized by background, participants, and power plant configuration.

Project Overview

Power Station: Agua Prieta II
Location: Agua Prieta

Owners (%): Federal Electricity Commission
Technology Hybrid, Parabolic Trough
Nominal Capacity: 12 MW
Status Operational
Start Year: 2017

Status Date

Status Date December 02, 2021


Break Ground Date 2011
Expected Generation (GWh/year) 34
Lat/Long Location 31.326,-109.549
Total Power Station Land Area 0.6


Developer Abengoa Solar
EPC Abener


Concessional Funding or Other Support Global environmental facility subvention

Plant Configuration

Solar Field

Solar Field Aperture Area (m²) 85000
# of Solar Collector Assemblies (SCAs) 104
# of Loops 26
# of SCAs per Loop 4
SCA Length (m) 150
Collector/Heliostat Engineering or IP Owner Abgeoa
Collector/Heliostat Model ASTRO
Mirror Manufacturer Rioglass

Solar Field (Receiver)

Receiver Working Fluid Thermal Oil

Power Block

Nominal Turbine or Power Cycle Capacity 12 MW
Power Cycle Steam Rankine